Section Title

Psalms without Words Volume 11 for Violin and Piano - Hommerding

Composer: Alan J. Homerding
Format: Songbook
Instruments: Violin, Piano
Product: 003118
ISBN: 978-1584599333
Unit: Each
Price: $12.00
Availability: Currently in Stock
  • Use
WLP continues to build its Psalms without Words series with a volume for violin and piano by Alan J. Hommerding. The first selection is inspired by Psalm 102:1, "Hear my prayer, O Lord." This piece is a Passacaglia, a series of variations over a repeating bass line. It begins with a pleading theme played by the solo violin. With each statement of the theme, the piece grows louder and more rhythmically active. Variations include key changes and violin color effects such as sul ponticello. In the second piece, Alan takes his inspiration from Psalm 30:11, "You have turned my mourning into dancing." ἀis psalm is set as a Tambourin and variants. A Tambourin is a duple-meter dance of Provençal origin, often with a drum-like rhythm. The main theme, echoing the feeling of sadness giving way to joy, turns between minor and major. Some of the variants include a minuet and a scherzetto.

Related Products

Psalms without Words Volume 4: Piano - Barnhouse

Product: 003099
Price: $10.00

Psalms without Words Volume 2: Piano - Eicker

Product: 003091
Price: $12.00

Psalms without Words Volume 1: Flute and Piano - Hommerding

Product: 003071
Price: $8.00

VeriSign Secured